Taking Flyte

Yoga is one of my favorite kind of workouts. Not only do I focus on my physical abilities, but I also get to relax and meditate. It’s a time for thinking and building strength in my mind and body. So, when I heard that there was a type of yoga called aerial yoga, I was excited to try it out.

Aerial yoga is exactly like regular yoga, but you’re doing it on a silk hammock. You do a variety of moves and you get to show off your acrobatic skills. You can hang upside down like a bat or swing like a child. Luckily, there’s an aerial yoga place in Naples called House of Flyte and I got to have the opportunity to try out this new trendy workout.

When I first got there I was kind nervous because I didn’t know what to expect. I made sure to take a beginners class because I didn’t want to get into a situation that would make a fool out of myself. Our instructor began our class with the background story of aerial yoga. Aerial yoga was created by an acrobat who thought yoga would be even better on a hammock. We started with relaxing yoga moves on the hammock (like child’s pose) and then eased our way into the acrobatic portion of the class. The acrobat part wasn’t as bad as I thought and it was actually really fun. I felt like pink performing on silks at the 2010 Grammy’s. My favorite one was the vampire pose and I was literally in a upside down cacoon. The instructor even went around and took pictures of everyone in that position. We also got to swing on the silk hammocks and it made my friend and I giggle because of how much fun it was. The best part in yoga is always shavasona and it was even better in aerial yoga. I got to lay on my back in the hammock and close my eyes in relaxtion while I was gently swinging back and forth. Aerial yoga is a must try workout and it’s an even fun hangout with a friend. I’m definitely going to have to go back, but this time I might challenge myself and take a harder class!

Leave a Reply

